Log in

Vote in The Apopka Voice Reader's Poll - Seat #2


At the March 15th, 2017 Apopka City Council meeting, Commissioner Diane Velazquez verbally announced her intentions to run for re-election to the City Commission. It was the beginning of the race for Seat #2.

Then eight months passed, and Velazquez found herself still running in her own lane unopposed.

Finally, on December 1st, two candidates joined Velazquez in the race and filed to run in the Seat #2 election - Leroy Bell and Alicia Koutsoulieris.

Velazquez won Seat #2 in 2014, defeating incumbent Marilyn Ustler-McQueen with over 55% of the vote. She has high name recognition and is likely to be well-financed. Bell and Koutsoulieris are first-time candidates in Apopka and will have an uphill climb to defeat her.

On the other hand, six straight challenged incumbents have lost in Apopka Municipal elections dating back to 2012. Retiring Commissioner Billie Dean was the last incumbent to defend his Seat (#1) way back in 2010.

So do Bell or Koutsoulieris have a chance against Velazquez? There's one way to find out.

The Apopka Voice has promised to keep the readers informed of this historic election cycle, and this is the first step. Where does the race for Seat #2 stand?

As we did two weeks ago with the race for Apopka Mayor and for Seat #1, we are asking this question of our readers:

If the election for Apopka City Commission Seat #2 were held today, who would you vote for?

The poll will close at noon on Monday, December 18th, at which time we will publish its results.

This is not a scientific poll. The margin of error is unknown, but it should reflect a snapshot of where our readers stand with these three candidates at the beginning of their campaigns, but with a little less than three months to go before Election Day.

So vote for the Seat #2 candidate you think will best lead Apopka into its promising future.

Decision Apopka 2018