Log in

Here is Your "Country" Cheat Sheet for The GRAMMYs Tonight


Whatever your plans are tonight, change them! This year’s GRAMMY show is packed with country music nominees claiming one third of the programming and they are also taking claim to several performances tonight as well.

Four time Grammy winner Little Big Town will be performing. Recently during a Broncos-Patriots game, CBS aired a promo with Carrie Underwood and Sam Hunt listing them as performers for the evening. It was also announced that Chris Stapleton will perform with Gary Clark Jr. and Bonnie Rait for a tribute to the late B.B. King.

Luke Bryan will take the stage along with Demi Lovato, John Legend and Meghan Trainor, paying tribute to Lionel Richie, 2016 MusicCares Person of the year. Their performance will take the audience on a musical journey through the 2016 MusiCares® Person of the Year’s songbook, spanning Commodores-era classics to memorable hits that earned Richie a GRAMMY Award for Album Of The Year in 1984. As part of the segment, Richie will also take the stage to join the artists in performing a special collaborative rendition of one of his all-time classics.

Just announced on Friday, Cam will be a presenter at The GRAMMYs.

“It’s official, The GRAMMYs gave me a pin and now we’re going steady. They even asked me to present an award!!! It might be love 😍 ,” she wrote on Facebook.‬

The 58th Annual GRAMMY Awards will be hosted by LL Cool J and held on Monday, Feb. 15 at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles. The show will broadcast live on CBS from 7 – 10:30 p.m. Central Time.

2016 GRAMMY Nominees:

Record of the Year

Taylor Swift-“Blank Space”

Album of the Year

Chris Stapleton – “Traveller”

Song of the Year

Little Big Town – “Girl Crush”

Best New Artist

Sam Hunt

Best Country Solo Performance

Cam – “Burning House”

Chris Stapleton – “Traveller”

Carrie Underwood – “Little Toy Guns”

Keith Urban – “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16”

Lee Ann Womack – “Chances Are”

Best Country Duo/Group Performance

Brothers Osborne – “Stay A Little Longer”

Joey+Rory – “If I Needed You”

Charles Kelley, Dierks Bentley & Eric Paslay – “The Driver”

Little Big Town – “Girl Crush”

Blake Shelton, Ft. Ashley Monroe – “Lonely Tonight”

Best Country Song

Lee Ann Womack – “Chances Are” (Hayes Carll, songwriter)

Tim McGraw – “Diamond Rings and Old Barstools” (Barry Dean, Luke Laird, Jonathan Singleton, songwriters)

Little Big Town – “Girl Crush” (Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose, songwriters)

Brandy Clark – “Hold My Hand” (Brandy Clark, Mark Stephen Jones, songwriters)

Chris Stapleton – “Traveller” (Chris Stapleton, songwriter)

Best Country Album

Sam Hunt – “Montevallo”

Little Big Town – “Pain Killer”

Ashley Monroe – “The Blade”

Kacey Musgraves – “Pageant Material”

Chris Stapleton – “Traveller”

Best Compliation Soundtrack for Visual Media

Various Artists – “Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me”

Best Recording Package

Asleep at the Wheel – “Still the King: Celebrating the Music of Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys”

Best Album Notes

Tennessee Ernie Ford – “Portrait of An American Singer” (Ted Olson, album notes writer)

Producer of the Year, Non-Classical

Dave Cobb (Producer: Chris Stapleton’s “Traveller,” A Thousand Horses’ “Smoke” and Jason Ibell’s “Something More Than Free”)

Best American Roots Song

The Mavericks – “All Night Long” (Raul Malo, songwriter)

Merle Haggard & Don Henley – “The Cost of Living” (Don Henley, Stan Lynch, songwriters)

Punch Brothers – “Julep” (Chris Eldridge, Paul Kowert, Noam Pikelny, Chris Thile, Gabe Witcher, songwriters)

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell – “The Traveling Kind” (Cory Chisel, Rodney Crowell, Emmylou Harris, songwriters)

Jason Isbell – “24 Frames” (Jason Isbell, songwriter)

Best Americana Album

Brandi Carlile – “The Firewatcher’s Daughter”

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell – “The Traveling Kind”

Jason Isbell – “Something More Than Free”

The Mavericks – “Mono”

Punch Brothers – “The Phosphorescent Blues”

Best Bluegrass Album

The Steeldrivers – “The Muscle Shoals Recordings”

Ralph Stanley & Friends – “Man of Constant Sorrow”

Dale Ann Bradley – “Pocket Full of Keys”

Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley – “Before the Sun Goes Down”

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver – “In Session”

Best Alternative Music Album

Alabama Shakes

Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song

Francesca Battistelli-Holy Spirit

Crowder; Ed Cash, David Crowder & Seth Philpott, songwriters-Lift Your Head Weary Sinner (Chains)

Matt Maher-He Lives (Amen)

Tobymac Featuring Mr. Talkbox; Cary Barlowe, David Arthur Garcia & Toby McKeehan, songwriters-Feel It

Best Contemporary Christian Album

Jason Crabb-“Whatever The Road”

Lauren Daigle-“How Can It Be”

Matt Maher-“Saints And Sinners”

Tobymac- “This Is Not a Test”

Chris Tomlin-“Love Ran Red”

Grammy Awards


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here