Log in
High School Football

Blue Darters, Mustangs get new districts for 2024 football season


The Apopka Blue Darters finished the 2023 season with an 8-4 record. Since 2018, the Blue Darters have a 19-6 record in the postseason, which includes four trips to the final four and three state championship finals in the last five years. Apopka won the state championship in 2001, 2012, and 2014. It was the 24th straight season Apopka has made the postseason.

But in 2024, the regular season may look a little different. 

Last week, the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) voted to shake up districts and regions for the next two seasons, changing the schedules for the Apopka Blue Darters and Wekiva Mustangs.

Apopka moves from Class 4M-District 2, which included Seminole, Lake Mary, Evans, and Lake Brantley High Schools, into a new Class 7A-District 2, which includes longtime rivals Ocoee and West Orange but also East Ridge and Ocala West Port High Schools.

The change comes two years after a Metro and Suburban classification plan by the FHSAA that changed the districts for the 2022 and 2023 seasons. The change, which is a throwback to the 2005-2021 seasons, is based strictly on student enrollment.

Schools have until January 12th to appeal their placement.

Apopka Blue Darters, Wekiva Mustangs, Florida High School Athletic Association, FHSAA, High School Football


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here