Log in

Wekiva High Student wins Applause Award


Put your hands together for Marcus Patterson.

The second annual Applause Awards ceremony was held last night at The Dr. Phillips Center, and Wekiva High School's Drama Troupe was well represented in both awards, nominations and honorable mentions.

The Applause Awards program supports participating high schools by providing high quality learning, performing and creative experiences for students. Schools register to have their musical theater production reviewed by a qualified team of adjudicators who provide directors with valuable feedback. During the spring of each review period the Dr. Phillips Center hosts an awards showcase to recognize the outstanding achievements of high school musical theater productions and students.

Modeled after the Tony Awards®, the showcase features outstanding performances from participating high schools. The event demonstrates the enthusiasm, dedication and talent of high school musical theater programs and encourages participating schools to grow and continue improving their programs.

The Applause Awards provides participants with a number of learning opportunities throughout the year, including master classes led by touring Broadway artists, Broadway Speakers Bureau opportunities, student ticket packages for touring Broadway performances, awards for artistic excellence in performance and technical theater/design, feedback from industry professionals, classes, performance training workshops, and much more.

Wekiva High School received an award for Outstanding Orchestra for their performance of Cinderella last year. This year the following students were nominated for their performances in Little Shop of Horrors:

Outstanding Male Lead Performer:

James Morrison

Outstanding Female Lead Performer:

Lexi Jeter

Marcus Patterson won an Applause Award for his role in Little Shop of Horrors.

Outstanding Male Supporting Performer:

Marcus Patterson

Jonathan Andersen

Outstanding Female Supporter Performer:

Zion Miller

Outstanding Overall Design:

Krista Amico

Honorable Mention for Design:

Curtain Operator - Khalil Wilson

Dramaturg Board - Sami Walker, Mattaiah Pierce, Ashanty Columbus

Congratulations to Wekiva High School's Drama students! A special congratulations goes to Marcus Patterson of Wekiva High School. Marcus received an Applause Award for his outstanding supporting performance in Little Shop of Horrors.

This is the second year of The Applause Awards.

Applause Awards, Dr. Phillips Performing Arts Center, Wekiva High


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here