Mustangs look to build off 2016 success

Last season the Wekiva High School Mustangs enjoyed their best season in its 10-year history with a 7-4 record and a trip to the state playoffs. This year, Wekiva hopes to build on that success as they open their 2017 campaign on the road against Oak Ridge High School. In the Mustangs 10-game schedule they never leave Central Florida. They open their home schedule against Windermere High School, and open their district schedule on September 29th at home against West Orange High School.

The Mustangs will face Apopka High School in the Mayor’s Cup at Roger Williams Field on the campus of Apopka High School on October 27th. Last season Apopka rallied past the Mustangs 38-31.

Orlando Jones High School defeated the Mustangs in their spring game 20-0. Wekiva begins fall football with a pre-season game against Lake Brantley High School (in Altamonte Springs) at the Wekiva Football Field with a 7 PM kickoff on August 18th.

WEKIVA MUSTANGS
• Week 1 — Fri. Aug. 25 — @ Oak Ridge
• Week 2 — Fri. Sep. 1 — Windermere
• Week 3 — Fri. Sep. 8 — @ Winter Park
• Week 4 — Fri. Sep. 15 — BYE WEEK
• Week 5 — Fri. Sep. 22 — @ Olympia
• Week 6 — Fri. Sep. 29 — West Orange*
• Week 7 — Fri. Oct. 6 — Dr. Phillips
• Week 8 — Fri. Oct. 13 — Evans*
• Week 9 — Fri. Oct. 20 — @ Orlando University
• Week 10 — Fri. Oct. 27 — @ Apopka*
• Week 11 — Fri. Nov. 3 — Lake Nona

  • * – denotes district game

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here